Sub-Saharan Africa

IIE Contact

For information on programs in the Sub-Saharan Africa Region, contact:

2020-2021 Sub-Saharan Africa Program Information

Regional Program for Study/Research Awards:

The countries listed above are those in which it is anticipated that grants will be available for the current academic year.

Selection for countries in Sub-Saharan Africa, with the exception of South Africa, will be made based on the quality of the applications, rather than per-country quotas. Distribution of awards to countries in the region will vary annually according to the caliber of the applicants.

English Teaching Assistant Programs are available to:

Benin, Cote d'Ivoire, Kenya, Rwanda, Senegal, and South Africa.

Grants are not available to:

Angola, Burundi, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (DRC-Kinshasa), Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Sao Tome and Principe, the Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan or Zimbabwe.

Multi-Country Proposals:

Multi-country applications are not accepted.


All candidates for study/research awards to Africa are required to obtain their own affiliations with an educational and/or research or other institution in the host country. Candidates should also consider initiating the research clearance procedure at the time of filing their Fulbright applications, since this can be a lengthy process in some countries.


Special Study/Research Awards for Fulbright-Fogarty are available to:

Ethiopia, Ghana, Malawi, and Uganda